6 years of EFL/ESL listening test recordings . . . first time waiting 90 minutes and still not ready to go.

6 years of EFL/ESL listening test recordings . . . first time waiting 90 minutes and still not ready to go.

This is why I wrote up my post called,

EFL/ESL University Listening Test Design, Writing, Editing, and Recording – Do’s and Don’ts

From now on I think I might send the link to this post to all future supervisors who run recording sessions I work on . . .

The bugger is that my supervisor this morning had no idea that the techs has set up a new soundboard that they weren’t trained on yet–I felt bad for her cause she was pretty embarassed at the whole situation.  Add to this that the user manual was in ENGLISH, lol, and the situation for the techs went downhill fast.

Upon establishing with each other that neither tech knew how to use it they then decided to set up the old soundboard . . . which seemed to take an insanely long time.

And then the techs discovered that something was wrong with the recording program on the computer . . . and they couldn’t get the microphones to connect the signal to the program . . . or at least that’s what I think was happening . . .

After sitting and waiting for an hour Julianne and I said we’d wait a little longer but with no end in sight to the problems we said we’d come back another time when they were actually ready for us to do the recording . . .

And then the techs came back from wherever they’d disappeared to with a laptop computer with the same recording program to try and see if they could connect the equipment to the laptop and use it instead . . . no joy.

Julianne and I go back today at 2pm to try again . . .

Hopefully everything is ready!!!

J

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment